Skip to content

The cats are taking over

November 7, 2007

Anyone who knows my husband and I knows that we have a penchant for kitties. We live in a two bedroom townhouse with our 3 cats. Yes, you read that right, 3 cats. The cats actually outnumber the humans living in our house. In our defense, our most recent addition should only count as half a cat because she’s a bit of a runt only weighing about 5 pounds.

My husband and I both grew up with dogs and considered ourselves to be dog people. However, I had always wanted a cat but for many reasons never had the chance. It seemed to be the perfect opportunity to get a cat when my husband was moving into his townhouse (and I was still in college living in the dorms where pets were not allowed). A few months after he had moved in I came to visit him with Sweet Pea, a sweet and adorable all black kitten.

Kitty #2 came along a couple years later when I moved into my first apartment when I started graduate school. One afternoon I went out, fell in love with a 5 year old black cat and brought him home. His name is Stewart and he’s the friendliest cat you will ever meet.

Finally, kitty #3 a few years later when the husband (then fiance) and I had moved in, acclimated our kitties to each other (although not very well – they hate each other) and were about to be married. He called me outside to show me that there was a teeny tiny gray and white kitten meowing in the backyard. One thing led to another and she made her way into her garage.

We did attempt to take her to an animal shelter thinking that we weren’t sure how our cats would feel about a new sibling. This attempt ended with meowing (the kitty), some crying (that would be me) and finally the husband pulling over to make an appointment at our vet for our new find Zoey.

We’re just one big happy family.

One big happy family that buys about 70 pounds of litter and 25 pounds of cat food on a typical trip to PetSmart.

One Comment leave one →
  1. motoaahhh permalink
    November 9, 2007 8:56 pm

    Finally, the long awaited abridged version of how Pam became “Crazy Cat Lady Pam”

Leave a Reply

