Skip to content

The thanks in Thanksgiving

November 21, 2007

This has been a hard year for me (and it isn’t even over yet).

I lost my brother (who, as I’ve grown older, I’ve grown to almost like being around) and his wife (who is my bestest friend) to a city across the country. A city in a state plagued by fires, smug-ness and a high probability of one day just up and falling into the ocean.

Then I lost my mother to cancer.

A card from said bestest friend expresses how I have felt this year perfectly,

Do you ever get the feeling that your guardian angel went out for a smoke?

However, there are a lot of great things that have happened this year and things that I am thankful for. I am thankful for . . .

  • my health and the health of those I love (both humans and animals, of course).
  • the love and support of my darling husband, because I know this isn’t easy for him.
  • the fact that my advisor thinks I might be able to graduate.
  • the ample supply of drinkable wine and our supply of aging wine.
  • the wonderful people at hospice who helped us take such good care of my mom. If you find that you would like to make a charitable donation this season but aren’t sure where to donate, please consider donating to your local hospice – they are absolutely amazing people who do amazing things.
  • that it is no longer a secret that I have kept my maiden name.
  • the great friends that I have. The friends who sit through my ridiculously boring research talk, who get up before the sun rises to come out to run a 5K, who make the phone calls that I just couldn’t bring myself to do, and who are always there.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

