Skip to content

Christmas over the years

December 3, 2007

As a young child, like most kids, I believed in Santa.  I believed that some fat, tubby guy in a red suit somehow knew whether or not I had been good all year (which should have been a red flag, I wasn’t that good of a kid, yet I still got presents).  I believed that this man in a red suit came down a chimney (mind you, our main source of heat was a coal stove and that “chimney” was a pretty small little pipe) and left presents for my brother and I.  I also left out cookies for Santa and carrots for the reindeer each year, and every morning – oh! They would be gone!

Once I reached the age where I could read, write and form coherent sentences I still believed in Santa.  Why?  My reasoning was that since my parents were poor there is now way that they could afford the ton of presents that my brother and I got each year – which I once blurted out to my whole class in a heated argument with another student over the existence of Santa.

Then there was the day I found out that Santa wasn’t real, which was really just a byproduct of learning that the Easter Bunny wasn’t real.  (Yeah, I picked up on a huge bunny bringing candy each April being fake before realizing that a jolly fat man doesn’t ride in a sleigh all night delivering presents to kids.)  As for how old I was, I don’t remember.  However, I do remember that I was sitting in the backseat of our 1985 Chrysler Lazer in the parking lot of our old Shop Rite with my mom in the driver seat and my brother in the passenger seat.

Then we skip some years and now it’s college.  Christmas during my college years became more about being with good friends and family, with presents just a nice little perk.  Ah, yes and now we also have the introduction of booze to the holiday gatherings; I always did wonder how the adults managed to survive this family gatherings.

Then comes, now.  Christmas is still about being with good friends and family.  The presents are still a nice little perk, although the nature of the presents tends to be more functional.  For example, in college my mom got me fun stuff and now, my husband buys me things like vacuums and appliances.  Christmas also now entails the husband and I decorating our house, a trip with my dad to go search through the woods for the perfect Christmas tree, lots of mulled wine, and listening to the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack repeatedly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

