Skip to content

Desperation

January 17, 2008

Like most people, I get cravings for certain foods every now and again. Sometimes it is for something sweet, something salty, something sweet and salty (although that is a very rare occasion, in general, I dislike sweet and salty foods), something crunchy, something chocolate-y, etc.Being that we are on the grocery challenge, the kitchen is . . . limited. We have veggies, fruit, and cheese. (Yes, cheese. Cheese is a staple in my diet: it’s tasty, delicious, and a good source of calcium. Don’t judge.) When these cravings hit I have to be creative in satisfying them.

For instance –

Sweet option #1: You know those colored sugars that you decorate cookies with? Yep, I poured a little into my hand and gulped it down.

Sweet option #2: Marshmallows, yum. We have a bag a mini marshmallows in the freezer I sometimes dip into. (I have no idea why they are in the freezer.)

Sweet option #3: Sugar cubes. Try it, they’re good in a pinch.

Salty: Easy enough, salt. Once I finish a snack size bag of pretzels, I usually dip my freshly licked finger into the bottom of the bag to eat the salt. This is the same thing, there just aren’t any pretzels involved.

Sweet & Salty: Take a small bowl, throw a handful of chocolate chips into it (or baking chocolate, or something that once resembled chocolate), and throw that baby into the microwave long enough to melt the chocolate. Remove the bowl carefully (it’s hot) and throw a spoonful (or more, depending on your preference) of peanut butter in there.

Crunchy: Ice cream cones. They remind me a lot of the wafers the Catholics get for communion.

Chocolate: Now this one can be hard, depending on what you have on hand. Chocolate chips or baking chocolate are usually what I’ll go for because it’s usually stashed way in the back of the baking cabinet (to prevent me from eating them ALL the time). Another option would be a spoonful of chocolate syrup if it’s available, yummy.

This is making me hungry . . .

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

