Skip to content

The laundry game

February 3, 2008

When the husband and I married, we made an agreement: I would take care of the laundry and he would take care of the trash. Out of the many concerns that ouples have when getting married, this was the only one I cared about. I didn’t care about who would do the cleaning, I didn’t care about who would do the cooking, but goddamnit I did not want to have to deal with taking out the trash.

Back to the laundry. My favorite game with the laundry is to see how long we can go before I have to do laundry (this excludes washing sheets and towels). To aid myself in this game, every holiday I buy the husband new underwear, and what he calls “baby tees” and normal people call undershirts. Since I’m a woman, I have an ample supply of clothing of all sorts (primarily sweat pants and t-shirts, but let’s be honest, the cats don’t care what I wear) and thus, my clothes are not a factor.

The longest I’ve gone without doing laundry is about 3 and a half weeks.

Once, I was thinking that it might be about time to do the laundry. I checked what I would consider to be the laundry barometer, the husband’s underwear drawer – it was empty.

Me: Honey, did you know you’re out of clean underwear?

Him: Yes.

Me: How long have you been out?

Him: Umm . . . I don’t know, a few days?

Me: What have you been doing for clean underwear?

Him: <looking like a child who’s done something wrong> I’ve just been wearing, ah . . . ummm . . .

Me: <sigh>

It was definitely time to do the laundry.

The husband also plays a very similar game with the trash. You ladies might be familiar with this game, the see how long you can go without taking the trash out before your wife threatens divorce game?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

